

August 2, 2014

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF BUSTINS ISLAND VILLAGE CORPORATION

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the legal voters of the Bustins Island Village Corporation held at the Community House on Bustins Island, Freeport, Maine at 9:00 a.m. EDT August 2, 2014.

There being a quorum, the Clerk of the Village Corporation called the meeting to order. On a motion made and seconded it was **VOTED** to waive the reading of the warrant.

Members of the Board of Overseers present were Rob Boone - Chair, Bill Cooper - Vice- Chair, Patricia LaFleur, Faith Baker, and Ken Barrows. Sixty (60) voters attended the meeting.

ARTICLE 1. Elect Moderator

Bill Cooper's name was placed in nomination and seconded. A motion was then made and seconded to close nominations. It was so **VOTED.** A written ballot being required to elect the Moderator, five votes were cast by the Board of Overseers, with the rest of the voters refraining from voting. Bill Cooper was **VOTED.** He was duly sworn in by the Clerk.

The Moderator announced that the parliamentary procedures in the 1980 Maine Moderator's Manual will be used. The Moderator noted that the Clerk will be using a voice recorder as a check in recording the minutes of the meeting and asked that those wishing to speak at the meeting please stand and go through the Chair, and also that any motions or amendments of more than a few words be presented in written form to the Clerk. For voting purposes, the voters are required to use their colored voting cards (pink). Only voters may speak. Non-voters may speak with 2/3 consent of the voters present at the meeting.

The Moderator asked for a moment of silence in remembrance of Islanders who passed away over the past year: Parker Carpenter, Raymond Drew, Pat Davies Wade Eaton, Joan Hunziker, Fred Jenks, Donald Wentworth "Don-Don" Kitchin Jr, Phyllis Kitchin, Marte Koleda, Ann Petrie, George Richardson, Howard Stoudt, Harold Wade, Elaine Record Wilmot.

The Moderator welcomed new property owners: Emma Hanson, Dori Martin, Mandy and Frank Meyer, and Darlene Torres.

The Moderator appointed Kim Ryan, Tanya Sweatt, Dan Jellis, and Hank Rauch as tellers. The tellers were duly sworn in by the Clerk.

The Moderator reviewed voting procedures.

ARTICLE 2. Hear Officers & Superintendent Reports

Rob Boone moved in the words of the article as printed in the warrant for this meeting:

To receive reports from the Officers, Overseers, and the Superintendent of the BIVC.

Article 2 was duly seconded and **VOTED.** The following committee reports were heard:

- a. The Clerk's Report Sue Spalding. The Clerk reported that as of August 2, 2014 there are 186 votes allowed, and 208 potential legal voters. The Clerk read a summary of the minutes of the 2013 Annual Meeting.
- b. The Board of Overseers Report Rob Boone, Chair.
- c. The Planning Board Report David Gosnell, Vice-Chair
- d. The Superintendent's Report Crawford Taisey
- e. The Finance Committee Report Roger Leland
- f. The Treasurer's Report Tony DeBruyn

The moderator asked that written reports for each be filed with the clerk.

Other committee reports will be heard under Article 6.

ARTICLE 3. Budget - Attachment A

Rob Boone moved in the words of the article as printed in the warrant for this meeting that the BIVC vote:

- a) To receive and appropriate the sum of \$259,220.00 to be expended under the direction of the Board of Overseers for the 2014/2015 fiscal year budget as set forth in ATTACHMENT A, "Bustins Island Village Corporation, Budget 2014-2015" in the column labeled "14-15 Budget;"
- b) To fund the sum so received and appropriated in a) above from the Freeport allocation, any gifts, assessments, and any other revenues; any excess or deficiency therefrom to be reconciled through reserve funds and any amounts otherwise authorized from the CASCO fund;
- c) To authorize the Board of Overseers to:

i) Expend monies from the reserve accounts for the general purposes for which such accounts were established; and

ii) Make transfers among operating and reserve accounts including any amounts otherwise authorized from the CASCO fund.

The Chair recognized Tony DeBruyn for presentation.

Article 3 was duly seconded and **VOTED.**

ARTICLE 4. Comprehensive Plan Acceptance

Warren Barrows moved in the words of the article as printed in the warrant for this meeting that the BIVC vote:

As provided in Title 30-A M.S.R.A. §4301 et seq. to adopt a revised Comprehensive Plan dated May 14, 2014 as set forth in material posted prior to this meeting.

The Chair recognized Warren Barrows for presentation

Article 4 was duly seconded and VOTED.

ARTICLE 5. Election

Rob Boone moved to conduct an election of officials to fill offices which would otherwise become open at the conclusion of this meeting.

The motion was duly seconded and VOTED.

The Moderator stated that offices to be filled are the Clerk and Treasurer of the BIVC for a term of one year each; and two members of the Board of Overseers for a three-year term, all to be elected by ballot as provided in the BIVC By-Laws.

CLERK

The moderator declared nominations open for position of Clerk for a term of one year.

Sue Spalding was nominated and seconded to serve a one-year term as Clerk. A motion was made, seconded, and **VOTED** to close nominations. A written ballot being required, with the consent of the hall five votes were cast by the Board of Overseers, with the rest of the voters refraining from voting. Sue Spalding was **VOTED**.

TREASURER

The moderator declared nominations open for position of Treasurer for a term of one year.

Tony DeBruyn was nominated and seconded to serve a one-year term as Treasurer of the BIVC. A motion was made, seconded, and **VOTED** to close nominations. A written ballot being required, with the consent of the hall five votes were cast by the Board of Overseers, with the rest of the voters refraining from voting. Tony DeBruyn was **VOTED**.

BOARD OF OVERSEERS

The moderator declared nominations open for two positions of Overseer for a three-year term.

Pat LaFleur and Roger Leland were nominated and seconded. A motion was made, seconded, and **VOTED** to close nominations. Written ballots from the hall were cast and Pat LaFleur and Roger Leland were **VOTED**.

The Clerk was duly sworn in by the Moderator, and the Treasurer and Overseers were duly sworn in by the Clerk.

ARTICLE 6. HEAR COMMITTEE REPORTS

Rob Boone moved that we hear appointed boards and committee reports.

The motion was duly seconded and **VOTED.** The following committee reports were heard:

- a. Code Enforcement Officer Ron Tozier.
- b. Police Report Ron Tozier
- c. Street Acceptance Committee Roger Leland. No report.
- d. Board of Appeals Tony DeBruyn for Warren Baker
- e. Harbormaster Rob Taisey
- f. Public Safety Committee Jim Boyko
- g. First Aid Coordinator John Abramson
- h. Boat Advisory Committee Tanya Sweatt
- i. Brewer Property Committee Kim Ryan. No Report.
- j. Water Commissioner Laura Vitali
- k. Brush and Log Committee Faith Baker

The moderator asked that written reports for each be filed with the clerk.

ADJOURNMENT

Rob Boone moved that this meeting be adjourned sine die.

The motion was duly seconded and **VOTED** at 10:47 am EDT.

Respectfully submitted,

M. Susan Spalding Clerk, BIVC